OBITS


Paul Bernard Reed, Sr., 82, of Campbellsville, KY son of the late Joseph Francis and Martha (Nagle) Reed, was born in Tunnel Hill, Pennsylvania on January 8, 1938. He departed this life on Monday, July 20, 2020 in Campbellsville at his home.

 

Mr. Reed had made a profession of faith in Christ and was of the Catholic faith. He was an avid hunter, and loved to play cards with his family. He especially enjoyed listening to the SwapShop on the radio, and was regularly entertained by the stories he heard. Mr. Reed was a former volunteer fireman in Pennsylvania, and had retired from the United States Army, 173rd Airborne, and had served two tours of duty as a combat engineer during the Vietnam War. He was a faithful member of Greensburg Masonic Lodge #54 F&AM, the VFW and the American Legion, and a devoted husband, father, grandfather, and great-grandfather.

 

SURVIVORS:

Wife: Mary (Behe) Reed

4 children: Paul Reed, Jr. and wife Kathy of Pennsylvania, Patricia Heinbaugh and husband Gary of Greensburg, Brenda Boblitt and husband Tony of Willisburg, and Theresa Underwood and husband Jason of Campbellsville

10 grandchildren: Jason, Jodie, Britney, Douglas, Patrick, Rebekah, Stephanie, Justin, Steven, and Amanda

17 great-grandchildren: Emma, Savanna, Sawyer, Taylin, Daxton, Gavyn, Alexandrya, Jackson, Douglas, Jr., Brooklyn, Gabriel, Allen, Toby, Anna, Alinna, Skyler, and Wesley

A host of other family and friends

 

He was also preceded in death by a son, David Reed, a sister, Nancy Bowman, and an infant brother and sister.

 

The family will receive friends at the funeral home on Wednesday, July 22, 2020 from 5:00-8:00 PM EST (4:00-7:00 PM CST). A Masonic service will begin at 7:30 PM EST (6:30 PM CST). All Master Masons are requested to meet at the Greensburg Lodge #54 F&AM by 6:30 PM EST (5:30 PM CST).

   

The funeral service to honor the life of Mr. Reed will be private and held in the chapel of the L.R. Petty Funeral Home. Bro. Steve Orr will be officiating. Burial will follow in the Lebanon National Cemetery with full military honors conducted by the Marion County Veterans Honor Guard.

 

Face masks and social distancing is required.

 

In lieu of flowers, please consider memorials in the form of donations to Hosparus of Green River. Those can be made in person at the funeral home, or at www.lrpetty.com.